Gtir Motorsport club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Gtir Motorsport club

Welcome to the largest Nissan Pulsar & Sunny GTI-R Forum. Masses of info, friendly members, cars for sale, lots of spares. Best forum on the net by far. Everything your gtir needs is here.

You are not connected. Please login or register

how hard is it to tig weld aluminum ac/dc

4 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1how hard is it to tig weld aluminum ac/dc Empty how hard is it to tig weld aluminum ac/dc 29th October 2013, 6:46 pm

gtir.chef

any advice a on machine or links

i am a chef so i got a steady hand ish

i could pick this up quickly watching you tube videos

wanting to tig weld inter cooling pipe or a box for my filter any advice let me know.

keep safe

chef

Last edited by gtir.chef on 30th October 2013, 9:33 am; edited 1 time in total

nomad

nomad
Admin
Admin

Depends on your budget mate .... ac/dc machines are not cheap .... there is a few cheap ones on ebay .... wich are best to keep away from ....

nomad

nomad
Admin
Admin

http://www.sipuk.co.uk/inverter-welders-arc-tig-mig-mma/sip-05162-weldmate-p177hf-ac-dc-tig-arc-inverter-welder.html

nomad

nomad
Admin
Admin

Either that or keep an eye out for a good qaulity  second hand ac/dc tig welder .....they still fetch some good money though ....its and expensive hobby lol you will also need to get a regulator and with welding aliminium you will use helium gas so will need to source out a gas supllier for that  i can throw you up a link if you wish ....

Greygtir

I tbought u only used helium on a dc machine,?

nomad

nomad
Admin
Admin

No mate pure argon for stainless steel and such like materials in dc .... when welding aliminuim you use helium on ac

gtir.chef

really i did not know that you use helium for aliminuim not
argon thank you for that.
i did not revise its a expensive hobbies or thing to do